Mental Monday: Learn Learn Learn

Last week I was able to attend a couple of fun and interesting events. The first one was a fit fair where I got information on exercise routines and sampled protein bars and energy drinks. To be honest, I didn’t see anything I hadn’t seen before but did get some great coupons and a handful of energy bar samples. Win win. The second event was a Nutrition Symposium which I was able to attend as graduate student ($15) so I spent the day with a bunch of nutritionists and doctors (phd’s not md’s) talking about how technology can help foster healthy habits and what we can do as a community to halter childhood obesity. Although some information went over my head, the marketer and social media nut in me had more fun anyone has the right to have at an academic symposium. I learned a lot too.

As I reflected on what I wanted to share from my two-day learning/fun events I realized that it would make for a very boring post; sorry, but it’s true. So instead, I am just going to say this:

“If you are in a weight-loss/fitness/health-type journey you should be keeping an eye out for events in your area that can provide you with information.”

There are plenty of places where to find free (or really cheap) information:

  • Fitness/Health Fairs
  • University Health Department sponsored talks (many are open to the public)
  • The Public Library (check their classes and/or events)
  • Health/Fitness Conferences (psst… fitbloggin is happening soon)
  • Online Classes: Coursera offers an array of free classes on nutrition, food, and exercise. Other sites with similar free courses are edX and udemy. Find more at www.openculture.com

Finally, I am going to leave you with a great TedTalk with neuroscientist Sandra Aamodt on why diets don’t work. It’s under 15 minutes and very interesting. Enjoy!

PS. One important topic at the symposium was on the use of social media, online trackers, food apps, etc. for weight loss and weight management. I’m reading a lot on the subject and hope to soon be writing about it.

Leave a Reply

