Foodie PenPal Reveal

The Lean Green Bean

 

Finally… It’s Foodie PenPal Reveal Day! OMG! I’ve been dying really excited about this. This is my very first foodie pen pal and I was lucky to be paired with a wonderful lady named Lorrie from Maryland. The way this works is by signing up via The Lean Green Bean blog (for US and Canada; UK/Europe click here) by the 4th of the month. Lorrie emailed me on the 5th to let me know that we had been paired. We talked about our food preferences and I explained that this was my first and she was super helpful with all my questions.

This is what I told Lorrie about my food preferences,

“I am up for anything but would love something local to do some food tourism. No food allergies but I don’t like most vegetables in the brassica (I just learned this word) family: cabbage, broccoli, or kale. I do drink coffee and tea and would love either. I would love some healthy snacks or local sauce to cook fish, chicken or put over pasta. Not very big on sweets unless it’s dark chocolate.”

Lorrie was amazing, here’s a picture of the box with all the goodies she sent:

foodiePack1

______________________________________________________________________________

MRChocolateNextOrgBananaChoco

Let’s start with the sweets: she sent me Moser Roth Premium 70% Dark Chocolate, some serious dark chocolate. I ate a bar a day and it was gone before the week was over; and Next Organics Dark Chocolate Bananas which I added to my dinner bowl improving it greatly.

______________________________________________________________________________

Lorrie introduced me to Old Bay Seasoning, one of many seafood seasonings created in the early 1900s and one of the few that has survived. I seasoned tilapia with it and added lemon, parsley and garlic for an amazingly delicious dish. I also received Old Bay Tuna Classic Cake Mix which I used as instructed to make tuna burgers that I paired with a pickle and Way Better Sweet Potato Chips (my new favorite chip). Finally, I used McCormick’s Herb Garlic and Wine Marinade to make baked marinated chicken with red potatoes (similar recipe here). Since I am not really the type to use pre-mixed seasoning this was really fun and opened a number of new possibilities.

OldBaySeasoning OldBayTunaCake McCormickMarinade

______________________________________________________________________________

I also got some awesome flavored green tea, Brewhaha Happiness Super Tea and last but not least a pack of Gourmet Snacks Regal Raw Pumpkin Kernels which I generously add to salads. Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture but you can see them in the box behind the beautiful hand-written card Lorrie sent.

BrehahaHappyTea

______________________________________________________________________________

To say the experience was amazing is an understatement. I already signed up for April’s foodie pen pal and I can’t wait to find out who’s my new pal. Thank you Lorrie for a great package and Lindsey for organizing this.

______________________________________________________________________________

PS. If you are wondering what I sent I am happy to let you know that Lorrie enjoyed her package too. I sent her a sample of southern foods including grits and BBQ sauce among other local and healthy snacks.

Leave a Reply

