Hello Twosday! Happy things, in twos

Today’s FMS Photo-A-Day challenge called from a picture from down low. I took a picture of a piece of furniture in my room that is where all things end up some how. It’s the one piece of furniture that I can’t seem to keep organized. On there you’ll find clothes, boxes, pictures, stuffed animals, books I’m reading, notebooks, games, and office and mailing supplies. Inspired by all the things that get piled on it, I’ve created today’s #twosday post.

Celebrating Twosday, happy things, in twos:

Books added to the 2-read pile. I am currently reading A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams but I just picked up two other books at the library that I can’t wait to read:

  1. Cubed: The Secret History of the Workplace by Nikil Saval. I learned about this book on NPR and I picked it up because it seems not only informative but pretty funny. I also hate cubicles and I have a feeling that I will learn why by reading this book.
  2. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt. As I have mentioned already, I’ll be heading to Savannah next month for Fitbloggin so I asked online if there was a book that I should read before or during my stay; this book was recommended to me via twitter. I have now learned via Savannah’s visitor guide that a movie of the book was also made and filmed in Savannah so I am very excited about reading this.

Journal add-ons. My journal is also my agenda, my scrapbook, and my fitness log. This year I am using Moleskine’s Little Prince weekly planner which has blank pages opposite to the regular weekly page. I cover the blank page with scrapbooking paper and use it as a journal, to add pictures, and write book summaries, favorite quotes, etc. and to keep little tokens like show tickets. I’m always in the lookout for cute stickers, cards, and colorful sheets that I can use to decorate. I bought a nice supply during my last visit to Target:

  1. K&Company – SMASH Collection Past, Present, and Future; Blank; and Quotes pads.
  2. We R Memory Keepers Journaling Cards: Banner Days, Dreamy, Simply Happy, and Daily DIY.

Screen shot 2014-05-06 at 8.30.14 PM

Movies I picked up at the library to watch this week. I got two documentaries and two foreign films:

  1. DOCUMENTARIES:
    • No way out but oneThe story of Holly Collins, the first American to be granted asylum by the Dutch government as a result of domestic violence.
    • Of Two MindsThis documentary explores the lives, struggles, and successes of some of the millions of Americans living with Bipolar Disorder.
  2. FOREIGN (French) FILMS: I probably should have seen these ages ago but haven’t had the chance.
    • Coco before Chanel
    • AmourAll I know about this movie is that’s is really good. I haven’t read too much to avoid spoilers but every person who has mentioned the movie to me has recommended it. It looks like a tearjerker… I’ll need my tissues.

BONUS MENTION – No salt? No problem. So my mom got diagnosed with high-blood pressure. No fun. In an effort of solidarity I decided to give up table salt too. Also, because HBP is hereditary so there’s a possibility of developing it so I might as well start doing something proactive about that. Here are the two products that have made the transition easy:

  1. Mrs. Dash Table Blend. This is great to add on to salads or over food that seems bland. I’ve used Mrs. Dash before but not the table blend. It works great.
  2. Original NoSalt Sodium-free Salt. This one I use for cooking. I tried it raw and it’s disgusting… sorry, there’s no delicate way to say it. So far, I have had no trouble with cooking.

Since my mom’s diagnosis I’ve been doing quite a bit of reading on hypertension and sodium. HOLY COW!!!! Doctors now recommend that we consume no more than 1500 mg of sodium a day (2300 mg max) but the average American (age 2 and older) consumers at least twice as much. That’s INSANE! Anyhow, I’ve been table-salt-free for four days now and all I can tell you is that I am peeing more frequently and was sweating a little more profusely yesterday during Zumba. I don’t know if it is related but there you have it.

Happy Twosday Everyone!

 

2 comments

  1. I really need to add tracking my sodium back to my goals this summer.
    Also – i LOVE the way you journal with your calendar/agenda. SO AWESOME!!

    1. Tracking sodium may be more important than fat and/or calories. And thanks for the love to my journal, the poor thing is getting super fat and I am not even half through the year 😀

Leave a Reply

