#workoutwednesday The top 5 reasons I love group exercise

Today I did my triple threat exercise routine: 1. Couch to 5K, 2. 55 minutes weights (Rep Reebok), and 3. 50 minutes insane Zumba. I can’t believe this is a common Wednesday for me now. A year ago I would have called it crazy. Today, I love it. I have yet to learn whether I will get to finish the couch to 5K program but my group classes? those I love. Here are the top 5 reasons I enjoy group exercises so much:

  1. photo1 (27)It’s social: Although I am introvert (something that developed later in life and that I need to talk about) I do like to see familiar faces, I love the encouragement I get from and give to my fellow workout mates. We laugh and whine together and we cheer each other on. It’s a little family with all its functions and dysfunctions and I wouldn’t change it for the world.
  2. It’s cheap: All my instructors are super careful and make sure that we have proper form. I get the benefits of having personal trainer but I don’t have to pay for one.
  3. It’s a full-body workout: Working alone you may be tempted and sometimes advised to work 2-3 muscles at a time. You also find it easier to quit half-way. Most group classes work all the muscles and you may feel deterred to quit halfway unless you are truly burnt out.
  4. It pushes me to work harder: In my weights class I keep record of the weights I use for each muscle group and try a little more every month. In my yoga and zumba classes there usually modified versions of most movements. It is great to know what to look forward and to celebrate what I have been able to accomplish.
  5. It’s structured: It works for me to know what time each class will be. I know I am at the gym everyday around 6 pm. If I didn’t have this it would be easier for me to postpone or skip but knowing that a class will be taking place helps.

All these reasons work together: I know what I am doing and when, I have friends that will notice when I don’t show (and call me out), and cheer me on when I do, my instructors make sure I have good form, that I work my whole body, and challenge myself, and it’s affordable. What’s not to love?

3 comments

  1. People have an innate need for relationships and to crave support and validation from others. Working out with others provides so much. I often run alone but even when I have to slow down or cut my miles, I try to make time to share a run with my friends. I don’t have a lot of running friends so it’s a challenge for them and I appreciate it.

    1. I can now exercise on my own and enjoy it but at the beginning working out within a group, even of people I didn’t know, helped.

      Have you looked up MeetUp.com? There may be a group of runners near you and an opportunity to make more running friends.

Leave a Reply

