Maintaining the Mojo… lessons from Fitbloggin

Screen shot 2014-07-02 at 10.38.19 PM
Image Source: @katrinaellep on Instagram

The very first session I attended at Fitbloggin was Weight Loss – Maintain the Mojo with bloggers @DubyaWife from DubyaWife.com and @KatrinaElleP from KatrinaElle.com who are both incredibly inspiring. We discussed our own unique health journeys and how we overcome our challenges and setbacks.

The one big lesson we learned is that every fitness journey is different and that it does each of us more harm than good to compare ourselves to others. There were four overarching questions that we all contemplated. Here are my answers:

  1. How did you get started? There is a pivotal moment when it finally clicks and we realize that we need to make a change. This usually has happened many times before it sticks but there is one time when you don’t stop… you keep going. For me it required dealing with mild depression and reaching bottom… hard. When the meds started to work and I started to be able to sleep and finally think, I saw myself in the mirror for the first time in what felt years and I didn’t recognize myself. It was clear to me that I needed to make changes and so I did. Little by little the changes stuck and now here I am still going.
  2. What keeps you motivated? Easy motivation comes from making progress, big or small, when the scale moves I get a jolt of inspiration that keeps me making better decisions. I get a lot of motivation from friends and family and people who follow me online and comment on my pictures and let me know how well they see me doing. It gets hard to feel motivated when the scale doesn’t move or just goes up and down (as it has been doing for the last four months). This is when #thestruggleisreal and it’s time to remember why you started, review what you’re doing, redefine success and failure, and be proactive about what it is you want to accomplish.
  3. How to overcome a plateau? OK… so this I have not overcome… yet. In an effort to get over this plateau I decided to join a new Dietbet (starts July 15) and I am committed to modifying my diet in order to get over this. I may need to visit the nutritionist also and get some extra help. I will make it though, I promise. During this session someone said that we can think of plateaus as maintenance practice.  I loved that! One thing I have learned from this plateau is that I can maintain my weight. That’s good to know. 🙂
  4. What’s the goal? In the session we talked about setting S.M.A.R.T. goals: specific, measurable, achievable, realistic, and time-sensitive (but not time-dependent). I really liked that someone said that you should set goals that are under your control. We can’t really force our bodies to lose X amount of weight but we can journal our food, manage our sleep, exercise, etc., in other words, focus on the behaviors that will lead to weight loss and that you can control. I’ll be sharing my goals on July 14th when I officially weigh-in on Dietbet.

@DubyaWife and @KatrinaElleP created the most awesome cards that we got to keep. You can see mine below… it’s the answer to whether I’ll be able to maintain my mojo.

WILL I MAINTAIN MY MOJO?

photo1 (28)

Your turn (you don’t have to share if you don’t want to),
1. How did you get started?
2. Where do you find motivation?
3. How do you overcome plateaus?
4. What’s your ultimate goal? If you already reached it, what now?

2 comments

  1. The quick answers:

    1) I want to reach more people who want to make a change in their lives and give them support and opportunity.

    2) Seeing people struggle and knowing that just a few hundred words and help reinforce or create a change.

    3) Shear discipline and consistency is all it takes to overcome plateaus, no secrets there.

    4) My goal is to achieve financial success by helping people achieve health success.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

Leave a Reply

