How one little setback does not a failure make

Today was a crazy busy day with lots of projects to finish and errands to run so I was not surprised when I found myself falling into the supermarket checkout trap and purchasing a small Pepperidge Farm Goldfish Crackers (280 cal). When it comes to snacks, this was not the worst choice but I’ve been trying to avoid highly processed foods such as these so it is still a setback. Oh well… it’s done. Moving on.

fit-setback-vs-failure

I woke up late considering everything I had on my to-do list so I had my warm water and lemon while I made my bed and decided what to wear. For breakfast I had Our Skinny Cappuccino Shake (thank you Fitbloggin sponsor), at mid-morning I reached for a Chocolate Chip ClifBar which tastes nothing like chocolate but it does give you a boost of energy to keep you going. At noon, I did my 7-min workout with CarrotFIT and for lunch I had some black bean soup with cilantro a some mexican blend cheese sprinkled on top. As I mentioned above, I crashed around 3 pm and fell for some Goldfish Crackers. Not my finest hour but when it comes to cheating my diet, not my worst… by a long shot. I took a 55-min Zumba Toning class which is a lot harder than one would think and for dinner I had 2 sunny-side-up eggs, fulfilling my egg quota for the week, with salsa and 1/2 an avocado. Not my best day but certainly not my worst. Tomorrow will be better.

photo1 (35)

Next? green tea and bedtime #nightnight 

4 comments

  1. You did GREAT today. Sometimes you just need a few goldfish. Don’t even give it a second thought. A little snack every 4 days won’t hurt you 😉

  2. It sounds like you did really well to me! but I love the contrast between set backs and failures. Mistakes are proof that we are learning and growing- doesn’t mean we’ve failed!

    1. Absolutely… It’s easy to give myself permission to mess up more when I mess up a little so I am really proud to have course corrected after tripping on the goldfish 😛

Leave a Reply

