#FoodieFriday: Butterless Baking

CAC-header-logoThe California Avocado Commission was present at Fitbloggin’14 in a big way. They kept us nourished with yummy drinks and other sweet concoctions but it was their butterless muffins that had me and many others coming back for more and more. BUTTERLESS MUFFINS? WHAT MAGIC IS THIS? It’s Avocado Blueberry Muffins and they are delicious.

Last night I decided to give the recipe a try. You can find their recipe and many others on the California Avocado Commission website. Here’s my healthier (if that’s possible) version. They were great this morning with a cup of coffee and almond milk. Enjoy!

My Avocado Blueberry Muffins (makes 6)

  • photo1 (36)1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 14 tsp. baking soda
  • 14 tsp. salt
  • 1ripe, hass avocado, seeded and peeled
  • 38 cup brown sugar (that’s 14 cup + 2 tbsp.)
  • 1egg
  • 12 tsp. Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Bean Paste
  • 12 cup nonfat greek yogurt
  • 3 oz. (1 ¼ cup) fresh blueberries

Prepare as directed on the website. Also note that the original recipe adds streusel on top which does require butter. I didn’t make it. I did the math and these come out at 170 calories each. WHAT! I had two for breakfast. #sorrynotsorry 😀 (on the website it says 160, theirs may be smaller?)

Fellow fitbloggers at The Year of the Phoenix and Divas Run for Bling also tried the recipe. Check out their take and their blogs which are both fabulous.

😀 HAPPY NATIONAL BLUEBERRY MUFFIN DAY 😀

UPDATE on my ONE-WEEK PLEDGE & 7 DAILY HABITS: Day 5 was good. I had my cup of warm water and lemon, an awesome breakfast, an invigorating morning zumba class, and a handful of almonds post-workout. For lunch, I made black bean burgers which I topped with lots of awesomeness (read veggies). In the afternoon I finally reached the halfway point of Couch to 5K #isthisreallyhappening, had a Banana Nut Chia Bar and then did Blacklight Zumba, my ultimate favorite. Dinner was unimaginative: one leftover black bean burger with cheese and salsa and a pickle. I’m out of green tea so I’ll have a cup of chamomile instead. TWO MORE DAYS TO GO. #onedayatatime

photo1 (37)

7 comments

    1. Thanks! Trying to make it over this plateau… this looks like its working 😀 here’s hoping. YES! Fitbloggin is a yearly event. It will be in Denver next year.

Leave a Reply

