Sunday Summary: Confessions of my inner monologue

3.2 lbs lost this week! I am ecstatic. The only downside, if I can even call it that, to my success is the realization that the only way out of this plateau is making really good food choices. I can’t cheat even a little bit which sucks but it’s also a real test to my willpower and  commitment to my goal. #thestruggleisreal

I ran 25 minutes straight today ending week 7 of the Couch to 5K program. Only one week to go. I earned a 3K badge on day 2 and I was so happy to see that I had in fact made the 3K mark according to my Nike app. Today, not only was I able to run continuously for 25 minutes but I also shaved a few seconds off my mile time. I am so proud of myself.

IMG_1099

Now, here comes the crazy talk. I should feel more confident, right? But… I’m freaking out. On the one hand I really want to be able to finish the program, on the other, I almost feel that finishing it is going to make me a different person. That probably makes no sense. After losing half of my overall weight-loss goal (~50 lbs) the idea of reaching my ultimate goal fills me with this weird feeling. I have already noticed how people treat me different and I wonder how much different they will treat me once I get “there” wherever there is. I love the idea of being an example to people who already know me but I’m fearful of the people who will know me after. That’s weird, right? This couch to 5K program has been a bit of a weird journey. Just less than two months ago I was so doubtful about being able to run for 8 minutes straight and now here I am running 25. Maybe I am just stunned at myself and it’s taking me a while to catch up with what I am capable of. I also can’t help to recognize that I could have done this years ago, that I always had it in me. Maybe I’m just overthinking it. I should just enjoy the ride. Anywho… one week to go peeps… one week to go.

I worked out a lot this week and I am particularly happy that I got my two weight classes in and a yoga class that felt amazing. I totaled over 10 hours of exercise (this may be a new record) and can’t feel better. I didn’t do CarrotFit at all this week but I’ve been feeding it my weight and since I’ve lost she’s not too neurotic lately.

So ends a week, let’s rinse and repeat!

Weekly Words of Wisdom

aristotlequote

Leave a Reply

