What I ate Wednesday

My grocery shopping pattern goes like this: right after payday I buy everything and a week after I do a small purchase to replenish fruits and veggies. Being on a tight budget is rough so you can expect that the few days before payday I’m short on a few things, mainly my favorite items, and have to get creative. Don’t take me wrong, it’s not that I don’t have food, I’m just usually out of my most used or favorite ones.

IMG_1711IMG_1712This morning, I made a pretty weak smoothie for breakfast with the last bit of frozen fruit and a cup of unsweetened almond milk. Of course that was not enough so later on I also had a handful of walnuts (I’m all out of almonds) and raisins, and a piece of milk chocolate that I picked up at a meeting last night.

For lunch I had my super awesomely made ground turkey which I normally eat as part of a taco-less salad but I’m out of lettuce and avocado so instead I paired it with a cabbage salad, and arepa which is basically Venezuelan bread, a biscuit-type thing made of precooked-corn flour.

IMG_1713I don’t really have a formal recipe for my ground turkey but this is how I make it: For a typical package of ground turkey (a little over a pound), I stirfry 2 carrots cut in tiny pieces, 1/2 onion chopped, 3 garlic cloves minced, 1/3 pepper (any color) chopped in 1-2 tbsp of EVOO. Once it’s fragrant (about 5 minutes) I add the turkey, and spices (I used cumin) and let it cook. Once I see that all the turkey is cooked I add an 8 oz. can of no-salt-added tomato sauce, let it simmer for 20 minutes or until it’s drying but not too much. This whole thing yields 4-6 portions and it’s really low on sodium. If you end up trying this, adjust to your taste.

IMG_1714It was a good lunch that required no afternoon snack. After a 2-hour session at the gym and a shower, I had a cup of cheerios which I was happy were not stale. I bought them a while back but have since been eating high-protein granola instead, but I’m out or granola so cheerios it is. 2/3 cup of cheerios, 1 tbsp of dried cranberries, and 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk.

As I finish this post I’m sipping on a nice cup of green tea and about to pick up my next book on my reading list: Plato and a Platypus walk into a bar. I hope it’s a good one.

IMG_1715

What did you have today? 😀

2 comments

Leave a Reply

