Foodie Friday: Pesto Recipes

Basil pesto was probably my first “green food” that I loved. I was introduced to it in my early teens by my mom whom I have no idea where she picked it up from. In Venezuela, basil was very cheap when I was growing up so making pesto was easy. We mostly ate it with pasta but mom also would make a succulent chicken pesto dish that you’d want to cuddle with.

In any case, for the longest time I thought pesto was something that could only be done with basil and it still sort of is. Through Wikipedia I learned that

Pesto (Italian pronunciation: [ˈpesto], Genoese: [ˈpestu]) is a sauce originating in Genoa in the Liguria region of northern Italy (pesto genovese), and traditionally consists of crushed garlic, basil, and European pine nuts blended with olive oil, Parmigiano Reggiano (Parmesan cheese), and Fiore Sardo (cheese made from sheep’s milk).

You may find the “official” recipe here. I, however, don’t make it that way. I have my own special pesto recipe where I use a lot less olive oil and almond butter instead of pine nuts. Here’s my recipe:

pesto

A few months back I noticed that I had a large batch of spinach about to go bad. I wondered if I could do with spinach what I did with basil and a whole new world opened up to me. I searched “Spinach Pesto” and voila… I realized I could do pesto with a lot of green leaves and this is great because I don’t necessarily love eating super greens. Anyhow… here are the recipes I have tried so far: Just click on the image and it will get you there (I always use less olive oil). (1) Spinach Pesto. (2) Kale Pesto. (3) Pumpkin Seed-Cilantro Pesto.

spinach

 

Screen shot 2014-09-19 at 6.21.19 PM

 

Screen shot 2014-09-19 at 5.29.03 PM

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

