Workout Wednesday: Race Inspired

Today began the 48-hour window for my current Dietbet (round #3). If you’ve read my last blog posts, you know that I need to weigh 163 lbs. to win, you know that I had a huge setback last Thursday, and you know that I weighed 167.8 last Monday. Today, I weighed 165.6 and it is simply unrealistic to expect to lose 2.6 lbs in 24 hours. I mean, I’m not going to stress my body to do that. It just isn’t healthy. However, I am waiting for tomorrow to weigh-in simply because I know I will lose some today and so the loss will be less tomorrow… I know… a loss is a loss. My waiting makes no sense, I know that. It’s an ego thing. The good thing… this race is not over; with three rounds to go I have plenty of time to recover and make it to the end.

workshop-button-1So about racing… again, thanks Kat from Mama’s Losin It for her weekly writing prompts (there’s time for you to participate, linkup goes live on Thursday). This week, I chose #1 A blog post inspired by the word: race which I guess could go either way: race, as in racing; or race, as in racial. I obviously went with racing which come to think of it can also mean several things. I digress.

On the journey to health, to active, to happier, I am running my own race with its own unique obstacles, rewards, lessons, and finish lines (which tend to move).

According to the dictionaryrace, as I am referring to it, is defined as a noun “a contest of speed,” a verb used without object “to engage in a contest of speed,” or a verb used with an object “to run against.” 

So, like I said, I am running against myself. Destination: A healthier and happier me. Will I get there? I don’t know. I think that when I get to the place where I want to be now there will be another place I’ll want to be. Don’t take me wrong, I don’t mean this as I’ll never be content but more in a way that once one race is won, there will be others to conquer. I actually look forward to what that may be.

Screen shot 2014-10-15 at 3.45.58 PM

Now on the literal sense, I actually have a very real race coming up in my future. I’ll be running a 5K on December 13th (8 weeks away) to benefit my local YMCA Annual Campaign. This is a really fun 5K that starts right after sunset and the course is decorated with lights so it will not only be fun but pretty 😀 Next Monday I will restart my Couch to 5K program but since I have already completed it I am going to do weeks 5-8 twice for training. That should be enough. Also, I am hoping that this will get my metabolism running a little better. Also, this…


(OK, I don’t really drink… but I do like to eat… a lot)

PS. I really never liked the idea of competing. I am not a competitive person but I have to say (and I never thought I would) I do enjoy running and racing. Go figure!

7 comments

  1. Gosh there is a really good quote about pushing against yourself and I can’t bring it to mind. But you’re right you are running against yourself…you are your best and worst enemy. By the sounds of it, you have the right frame of mind and are so positive. Cheers to more success! And be good to you 🙂

  2. I’m always on such a roller coaster with my health. I wish I loved to run…I know I can get to a place where running doesn’t feel like such a chore, but getting to that place is such a chore! It sounds like you’ve got yourself set in some really healthy habits! Keep it up!!!

    1. Thank you… I never thought running would become a thing. I finally got through couch to 5K on my third try. You never know when it’ll stick. I’d give it another go.

Leave a Reply

