Blogging 101: What’s in the name

TheDailyPostA2

When I first decided to start a blog per the request of a few friends (Maria… wink wink) I turned to my Facebook friends for help.

FBBlogName

And so “The Extra Pounds” was born to refer to not only the very real extra pounds that I carry and work hard to get rid of but also the not-so-literal pounds that also weigh me down like my emotional and mental state. When I started I didn’t really think I needed this outlet as much as I do. I thought I would share meal plans, recipes, exercise routines, and the occasional personal insight but eight months in I realize that it is much more. It’s a way to connect with others, to find and be found, to exchange stories. In a way, it’s an anchor. An anchor that has helped me stay on track through the most stubborn plateaus.

I truly believe that without this blog and without the amount of sharing I do on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, I would have given up and called it a day. I am sure of that. I wouldn’t care so much about making progress or identifying and overcoming the challenges that come up if I didn’t have the support I have found online.

The tagline was a natural extension to the title. When I think of my extra weight I immediately think how much they take out of my life. I was hiding it all but in truth the extra pounds were hurting me literally and figuratively. I got easily tired so I avoided walking a lot and this limited my outings. I was in pain, tired, and grumpy… who wouldn’t. My extra pounds of flesh and emotional baggage are the bane of my existence. If I don’t get them under control, they will kill me… perhaps not kill me kill me but they will certainly kill the person I want to be.

So far, I’ve shed 60+ lbs off my 5.1 frame and in honor of
Transformation Tuesday
let me show you what that looks like

IMG_2108

PS. The picture on the left is from 2009/2010 which is not even my highest (225.4) but I was probably pretty close. I was still wearing these clothes early last year (size 18/XXL). The one on the right is from last week when I officially changed sizes (size 10/M). At 165 lbs. I am hoping to make it to 158 lbs (BMI < 30) by December 31st. I declared 2013 the last year I was over 200 lbs and I want to declare 2014 the last year I am obese. Hence the extra work I’m putting in this month.

Thanks for stopping by – Happy Tuesday

13 comments

Leave a Reply

