Getting Thematic

Today’s assignment from The Daily Post Blogging 101 course is to try out at least three other themes — even if you’re happy with the one you first chose. Try one you’re drawn to, and one you would never use.

This is a great topic. When I started this blog I tried many themes (even the premium ones) before settling with The Suits. But before I committed I remember seeing the Pachyderm Theme and being so tempted.

PchydermTheme

I have an uncle that calls me “paqui” (in Spanish, short for paquidermo – english: pachyderm). It’s his cute way of calling me fat. It’s never bothered me because it really is an endearing nickname and not meant to be offensive at all so when I saw this theme I immediately thought of using it but I figured not everyone was going to get it since not everyone reads “about me” pages so I decided against it. I still like it though. What do you think?

As I have mentioned before, in real life I am a marketer and a teacher and although I don’t describe myself as a very creative person I have found myself working with creatives and researching and studying design. Based on that previous knowledge there are a few things I wanted “design-wise” on this blog. I wanted to make sure that it would be easy to read on any platform so I wanted a dark simple font, preferably sans-serif, on a white or light background with a strong hyperlink color (not black). I wanted the title of the posts to always come up All-Caps so it would be consistent and I didn’t have to decide what to capitalize. I wanted both the title and the tagline of the blog to appear at the top. And, I wanted a second column for widgets.

The Suits Theme has given me all that. But since The Daily Post gave me this assignment and forced me to look through themes again, I am now considering making a change. Should I? Would it be too much of a shock to readers? Have any of you bloggers changed your theme before? All advice is welcomed.

Here are the three themes I am considering… please let me know what you think.
1. Harmonic (content-focused)
2. Motif
3. Penscratch

HarmonicTheme
MotifTheme
PencratchTheme

 

Here’s my problem. All three of these themes do not use all-caps on the post titles so I would be forced to think about what I capitalize. Harmonic gets rid of the tagline so I don’t think I can really consider it although I love how clean the page looks. Now Motif and Penscratch I like. To be honest, I like Motif the best even though I don’t like that the hyperlink is gray but I think I can change that.

The Daily Post also asked to point out a theme I would never use but I have to say most themes work. They really do. The few that don’t are simply too specific. For instance, Shine On has this gigantic multi-colored hand-drawn owl that I can’t even think who or what it would apply to but I’m sure it applies to something. Babylog is obviously for a new mom/new baby blog. Spirit is a christmas-themed template. And LoveBirds would be appropriate for wedding planners and/or newlyweds. I certainly wouldn’t use any of those templates for this blog but I may find use for them sometime. Here’s one I would probably never use: Monster. But check out how funny the blog would look 😀

Screen shot 2014-11-07 at 4.03.37 PM

OK… so that was fun. Have a good weekend everyone. 😀

Leave a Reply

