Saturday Shenanigans: Book vs Movie

I’ve said this before. I sometimes have a hard time watching a movie based on a book that I believe that won’t live up to the pages. Science fiction stories are the exception since I like to see fantasy worlds brought to life. On the other hand, modern day tales of suburban households are a little different. For instance, this year, I read Lois Lowry’s The Giver and then watched the movie which was quite different from the book but since I was more interested in how they recreated this utopian/dystopian society it really didn’t bother me. On the other hand, I read John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars but still haven’t been able to bring myself to watch the movie.

Gone_Girl_(Flynn_novel)I was having a similar problem with Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl which I finished reading the same week it came out in theaters. I really enjoyed the book and was having a hard time convincing myself to watch it on the big screen. However, my book club pals decided to make it an event and finally convinced me to join in the fun.

I must first say… the book was better. Isn’t that always the case? However, the movie is good. It stays pretty close to the original only changing minor plots to save time (the movie still runs 149 min) but overall a very good adaptation. Nonetheless, I can’t help but wonder what it’s like for someone who hasn’t read the book to watch this movie… any of you out there? Let me know.

Anywho… here’s my recommendation: if you have watched the movie, don’t bother with the book. If you haven’t watched the movie you’ll be fine either way but of course my recommendation would be to read the book. The book takes you on a ride for days that the movie simply cannot take you. Check the trailer for the movie here if you haven’t had occasion to see it yet (I sincerely doubt it).

In case you were wondering, here’s a list of 16 movies based on books that came out (or are coming out) this year in theaters. Here’s the list for 2015. Now, if you excuse me… I got a lot of reading to do.

Happy Saturday

4 comments

  1. I have seen the movie, not read the book… I am like you, I generally will read the book first and then try at all cost’s to avoid watching the film as I am always left disappointed.

    This time, the reviews and feedback were so good that I decided to forgo the book and dive straight into the film.

    I REALLY enjoyed the film… it is a roller coaster ride for sure, the writing and the acting is so good that it creates an emotional reaction in the viewer (shock, horror… HATE) for these characters. I find books are always good at doing this, and the movie adaptations tend to fail at the little (but so important) details.

    For me one example of this is the Hunger Games – The book really goes into detail about how she gets the pin and the emotional goodbye between her and her sister… in the film, she is just given it… not more than 5 seconds was given to what I would consider one of the best parts of the first book. Buy hey… it is a multi million dollar blockbuster, who cares right?

    1. Thank you so much for your comment. I kept thinking that some parts would be hard to get without the book but I see that it was just as intriguing. For me, I’m hating the characters from the get-go because I know what’s happening but there was a couple next to be and it it was clear that she had read the book and he hadn’t and it was funny to hear his reaction.

      Yeah, I’m with you with Hunger Games, that’s why I focus more on the make up and the reimagining of the setting and not so much on the story because I know important parts, at least important for me, will be left out. With the Harry Potter films I was disappointed not to see subplot about The Society for the Promotion of Elfish Welfare, also known as S.P.E.W. For instance.

    1. Oh wow! I think you are the first person I know who does that. Yeah… I love to read but I find it really hard to read a book after I’ve seen the movie. I should try that sometime. 😀

Leave a Reply

