Today @ The Gym

OK… this may be the start of a regular post.

Here’s a conversation I had last week with a lady who is a little new to the gym and didn’t know how much weight I had lost.

SHE: So, you come here every day?

ME: Pretty much. If I don’t come here it’s because I sometimes take a yoga class elsewhere or decide to take my workout outdoors. But yeah, I’m pretty much here every day.

SHE: WOW… why do you workout so much?

ME: Because these extra pounds are not going to leave on their own.

** WE BOTH LAUGH **

SHE: Yeah, they are not leaving.

** I decided to share with her my latest before/now picture **

SHE: Oh! WOW! That was you? When was this?

ME: Well the “before” picture is from a while back but I was at that weight, maybe even heavier, early last year.

SHE: WOW!

ME: Yep, that’s 60 pounds ago. But it’s not just exercise. Exercise helps, but you really fight this battle in the kitchen. (FYI – this is like my catch phrase now)

** I shared a bit of my medical history and briefly explained the importance of understanding your body and how it metabolizes food. Then the class was about to start so we moved on. **

I have the nagging feeling that she didn’t like to hear that exercise alone would not help her lose weight. I have this nagging feeling because I have had similar conversations before with friends and family who also want to lose weight.

I realize that when it comes to weight loss we tend to hope that moving more will be enough. It seems that it is easier to include an hour of exercise a day to our routine but much harder to change our eating habits.

And I get it! It hardly seems fair that on top of having to exercise I also have to give up food that I like. What I have discovered is that that’s not really what happens. What happens is that you start liking other foods. It’s all learned behavior.

Here’s the lesson (I need to get this on a t shirt)

if-you-want-something-youve-never-had-then-youve-got-to-do-something-youve-never-done

And to my friends and family I always add… I don’t judge; if you want to stay overweight/obese that’s OK too. Do what’s good for you not what’s expected from others. At the end of the day we’re the ones who have to live with ourselves. I’m the first to admit that although the change did not start for aesthetic but for healthy reasons, I now continue for both.

Happy Monday everyone, don’t forget to be awesome!

PS. Today’s The Daily Post Blogging 101 Assignment was to create and publish your About page, and adapt it for a widget on your home page. Mine’s done but if you have any recommendations they would be very welcome. 🙂

6 comments

  1. Hi there – I stumbled across your blog today and I just wanted to give you a “shout out” regarding your comments on changing your diet as well as exercising. I have struggled with my weight for most of my life and after getting sick repeatedly in graduate school I decided that I would finally get my body in gear. I exercised like a mad-woman and went from a size 18 to a size 6. But, I barely changed my diet at all. So unfortunately, as soon as I stopped exercising 2 hours a day, a lot of the weight came back. I’m still struggling with trying to make a lifestyle change to be healthier overall but it’s definitely a challenge. Congrats to you for doing it the right way!

    1. Thank you so much! And welcome to my little piece of the internet. It is an everyday challenge… I have to make the decision every day to eat healthy and move more. On the topic of eating better the one thing I can promise you is that good habits are as addictive as bad habits. Try to eat better for a week at least and then go for two weeks, and somedays yiu won’t be great but most days you will. It can be done.

Leave a Reply

