Sweaty Yoga

Today I did Week 6 Day 1 of Couch to 5K and it was pretty rough. I remind you that I have already completed this program but I took a 6-week break and had to restart it. Today I had to run 10 minutes straight, then walk 5 min, and run another 10 minutes. I got a slight cramp on my legs which I am told is probably because I am dehydrated so tomorrow I am heading to my local dollar store to buy a water pouch.

Tuesday is now yoga day. I started about a month ago when my local library decided to offer a free weekly class. I love yoga but I still consider myself a beginner so I only take basic yoga classes, nothing fancy. Classes at the library are over so today after my run I decided to take a yoga class offered by my gym. This was intense… I have never… ever… sweated so much in a yoga class in my life. And I swear I was walking funny afterwards. I was (and still am) feeling body parts I didn’t know were there. No joke. Because I am insane (there’s no other logical explanation) I decided to then take a zumba class after yoga. It took me a good 15 minutes to feel somewhat normal again. I know I am going to feel this tomorrow.

As soon as I got home, I started researching this phenomena of sweaty yoga… I mean… I know about hot yoga and I know that in a class with a lot of people and/or poor ventilation, sweating is bound to happen but NOOOOOOO… this was me. There were six people in class (including the instructor) and our room was very well ventilated. This was a “me” problem… or, maybe not.

😆

Turns out that it is not as uncommon as I first thought  (feeling so much better already). First of all… I had just come down from a run so I believe that my body was already in the mood to continue sweating. This is solely my theory. Here’s what probably did happen. As I said before I am used to taking basic yoga classes which normally go through some form of sun salutation sequence. There are always variations but this is the core of the class which I have been taking for about a year so I may sweat sometimes but only minimally. Today the class was a combination of vinyasa and yin sequences.

Mystery solved.

I have to say… I still loved the class. There were a number of movements that I can’t believe I was able to do and I look forward to working on them more and getting more flexible… sweat and all.

Note to self: keep the towel close.

Check out these 10 Best Ways to Deal with Sweat During Yoga where you’ll read these two strong points:

sweatthis really made me laugh… which hurts a little 😉

PS. Today’s The Daily Post Blogging 101 Assignment was to create and upload a simple header, background, or both. Already done? Try a custom widget. Since I already have plenty of widgets and still haven’t decided on a new theme to give my blog a makeover, I really didn’t do anything. However and as always, your feedback is appreciated.

5 comments

      1. You gotta put yourself in pain once in a while if you want to keep getting better. But you totally know that! Xo

Leave a Reply

