I just want to eat

There was a time in my young adult life I didn’t diet. Can you believe that? I wasn’t thin (I never have been), I wasn’t in either good shape or bad shape… I just was… and I didn’t have to diet to be. I miss those days. Unfortunately while I was living those days I didn’t fully appreciate them. Although I don’t necessarily want to return to my early twenties (they weren’t bad but why repeat them), I do wish to be present in a time when I can honestly just eat.

In Venezuela, each graduating High School class chooses and organizes how they want to celebrate. I went to a small private school. While some students had set plans right after graduation, two thirds of us decided to take a 4-day trip to Margarita Island. And so it happened that I spent a good part of my last year in High School at the gym and “eating well” and lost a few pounds to look great in my graduation dress and even better in a bikini. By graduation I was probably a solid size 4. Most of my classmates were much more fit than I was but I was incredibly happy with the results. So was my high school crush. 😉

I estimate that the following 4-5 years were my diet-free years and of course I gained some weight but I still felt comfortable in my own skin not worrying too much about what I ate or whether or not I exercised. In hindsight, this was probably the beginning of my mid-life end… probably. These years coincide with my most extroverted years. I remember lots of parties, trips to the beach, and home BBQs. I remember overlapping flings, terrible hangovers, and weekend adventures. Those were the days… well, the years.

Random Pictures from 1995-2001

IMG_2772

Don’t take me wrong, I don’t want to go back to the insecurities of my late teens and early twenties, nor do I need to relearn my lessons. But I do wish to live in a time when I don’t have to scrutinize a menu or nutritional label. I do wish I could just eat. Alas, those days are gone now… for good.

 ________________________________________________________

Screen shot 2014-11-18 at 6.59.57 PMThis post is inspired by The Daily Post Daily Prompt Salad Days: Is there a period in your own personal life that you think of as the good old days? Tell us a story about those innocent and/or exciting times (or lack thereof).”

I hope you enjoyed it 😀

Salad Days

5 comments

  1. I totally know what you mean! The end of high school and college I spent much less time thinking about my health. I ate and drank pretty freely and didn’t worry about working out. There was lots of fun and partying and late nights 🙂

    I wish I could have the best of both worlds, but the truth is I enjoy this lifestyle so much more! And I know you do too! Because we could go back if we wanted to … Amazing memories. So much fun. But been there. Done that.

    Love your pics btw

    Xo

    1. I certainly have no desire to go back in time I just wish I didn’t have to spend so much energy worrying about food. hehe… if I ever have children I will make sure they enjoy those carefree years to the fullest. hehe

      OMG! The pictures… I ended up calling my cousins and we just laughed and laughed remembering our shenanigans.

Leave a Reply

