Cramps be gone! Testing Solutions

No cramps today! I am so happy. Today after much hesitation I decided to give Week 6, Day 3 of Couch to 5K another try. I had a GU Energy 15 minutes before starting and spiked my water with a nuun tablet. I did my brisk walk and then took about three minutes to stretch my calf muscles. I am not sure which of all these strategies worked and I did feel that a cramp was coming but it didn’t take and I was able to finish running as planned. SO FREAKING HAPPY!

nocrampsrun

I love that I get to start week 7 because the intervals are over. The cramps always attack when I am walking so there is something about slowing down and/or over-extending my calf that causes the cramp. Not knowing why this is happening is annoying but I am leaning towards a potassium deficiency so I will continue to work on that and see how it goes.

I have to give Karen from RunWright a huge SHOUTOUT! Thanks to her and her RunningMates program I first learned about GU and nuun. Thank you so much friend.

nuungu

Overall, a very successful Tuesday!

______________________________________

PS. Today’s The Daily Post Blogging 101 assignment was to add a new page to your blog, and make sure readers can find it easily. In case you’ve missed them, I have a couple of pages at the top. On Let me start at the beginning you can learn a little more about myself and why/how I started this journey and on The Goals page you can see where I am and where I hope to be on my journey. As always, your feedback is welcomed. 😀

6 comments

  1. Gu is the best! Got me through my first tri and an 80 mile bike ride through Austin’s hill country! Keep up the awesome work with the running 🙂

  2. Ah! I picked up running some months back and I can relate… Random body parts making their presence known, monitoring my protein intake, etc etc! I didn’t use any supplements, though these look interesting. I’ll check them out 🙂

Leave a Reply

