TBT: The Chuck E Cheese Years

Hey peeps… (and Happy Thanksgiving for those of you to whom it applies).

workshop-button-1There is no rest for the wicked blogger and Kat at Mama’s Losin It provided some great writing prompts this week. I decided to go with #3 Write about your favorite place to eat when you were a child and make it a #throwbackthursday post.

I realize that we ate out a lot when I was little. My parents arrived in the US in 1978 to go to university and there was a lot of cultural shock. ATM machines hadn’t arrived in Venezuela nor did we have yet the gigantic malls and massive supermarkets that they encountered here. There were no $1 menus yet but that’s because most fast food chains prices were already under a dollar. My parents had come from a place where “cooking from scratch” was the only way to cook and they knew little of the effects of processed foods. Anywho… we ate out a lot. In fact, I remember many Sundays when mom and I would have breakfast at McDonald’s before church, lunch at Rax (roast beef sandwich and endless salad), and dinner at a local chinese restaurant whose owner would sometimes send me home with a full bag of fortune cookies. However, these were not my favorites.

My favorite place to eat when I was a child was Chuck E. Cheese. I have no idea what their pizza tasted like… but it was pizza so I am sure I liked it but what I really loved about that place was their animatronics. When I was little, it was still called Chuck E. Cheese’s Pizza Time Theatre and it was very much like a theater. The one I went to had a full band that would start playing every 30 minutes or so. My favorite show, however, was a solo pianist animatronic that I could watch and listen to for hours.

Since this was a place that once inside was hard to get me out of, my parents usually took me there for birthday parties only. Perhaps it was because we didn’t go that often that I loved it so much too. Oh! How I miss the fun!

Here’s me with old Chuck E. Cheese (circa 1984)

CCtbt

Happy Throwback Thursday (and Thanksgiving)

___________________________________________

PS. Today’s The Daily Post Blogging 101 assignment is to extend your brand with one of the following: a custom Blavatar, a custom image widget, or a Facebook fan page. I already have a blavatar and image widgets… should I make a Facebook fan page?

6 comments

  1. Oh I remember the Chuck E. Cheese years, too. When our girls were little, we had their birthday parties there a lot. What I remember most was the NOISE!

    Happy thanksgiving to you!

  2. That Chuck E. Cheese in your picture looks a little creepy, but look how happy you were!
    In 1978, you could get a regular hamburger, small order of fries and a medium drink for 94 cents. I was a senior in high school and that’s what I got every time.

    1. Hahaha While I was making sure the name was right I found a comment who was freaked out by my favorite pianist. I may have been a weird kid. Hahahaha I still love animatronics.

  3. Oh Chuck e cheese was the best!! I loved running around and feeling like I could just play ALL THE GAMES. We have one not too far from our house that really doesn’t get that busy so I’ve been able to bring my kids and have a decent time. And I still like that pizza!

Leave a Reply

