February’s WIRT: Heft

Hello peeps! Welcome to the second installment of What I Read Tuesday (WIRT) where I write about books I have read as I complete 2015 Around the World Reading Challenge and I tie them into the blog’s theme.

Last month I started in Japan with 1Q84. Since then I have read I know why the caged bird sings by Maya Angelou, The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty, The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger (PS. read the book and skip the movie), and Heft by Liz Moore.

heftFor my Around the World Reading Challenge I go from Japan (1Q84) to The United States with Heft by Liz Moore.

Here’s the description from the author’s website:

Former academic Arthur Opp weighs 550 pounds and hasn’t left his rambling Brooklyn home in a decade. Twenty miles away, in Yonkers, seventeen-year-old Kel Keller navigates life as the poor kid in a rich school and pins his hopes on what seems like a promising baseball career – if he can untangle himself from his family drama. The link between this unlikely pair is Kel’s mother, Charlene, a former student of Arthur’s. After nearly two decades of silence, it is Charlene’s unexpected phone call to Arthur – a plea for help – that jostles them into action. Through Arthur and Kel’s own quirky and lovable voices, Heft tells the winning story of two improbable heroes whose sudden connection transforms both their lives. Like Elizabeth McCracken’s The Giant’s House, Heft is a novel about love and family found in the most unexpected places.

I was surprised of how much I identified with Arthur. Like him, I know what it’s like to “eat my feelings” although I have never put it into words as well as Arthur does. I realized through reading this book that what I liked about food and the act of eating was that food didn’t judge me and eating became dangerously comforting.

I cried so much with this book, with Arthur and Kel. I loved the reality of this book. It was not condescending and it treated the characters and their flaws with a lot of compassion. I can’t really say more without spoiling it but I do recommend it.

I gave this book 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

Favorite Passage

Screen shot 2015-02-24 at 9.24.28 PM

4 comments

Leave a Reply

