The Extra Pounds turns one

It’s hard to believe I have been writing somewhat consistently for a year now. A year ago today I had been dieting and exercising for six and a half months and had reached the 50-pounds weight loss mark and upon sharing this picture I got a lot of friends interested in what I was doing. One friend suggested I start a blog and so The Extra Pounds was born. My first post simply described what I had discovered worked for me (up to that moment). As I re-read it I realize how much more I have learned.

When I started this blog I weighed 175.4 pounds. Since then I have managed to lose about 15 pounds but I recently found about 10 of those and last Sunday (Sundays are now my official weigh-in days) I weighed in at 169.2. #thestruggleisreal

The most important and recent lesson that I have learned is that I need to fuel to burn. Weight loss is not simply “calories in and calories out;” it is much much more. Now that I consistently go to the gym and work out quite the sweat I also need to eat more in order to burn more. I am excited for the next year and seeing my body change again.

Blog Highlights

I cannot celebrate this blog’s birthday without a huge shoutout to my virtual friends who have liked and commented since the beginning. There are a lot of you that visit and comment but my virtual pals Karen at RunWright.net, Michelle at FindingYourFitPlace.com, and Clifford at Advocareadvisor.wordpress.com have been my biggest cheerleaders and sources of information this first year and for that I am very thankful.

One thing I am very proud of is my consistency. It is the one thing I worried about when I started… I worried that I would soon forget the blog but I didn’t and I am very happy about that. Although I would like to write more often, you can always count with a Sunday Summary post with anecdotes and lessons learned and my consistent Weekly Words of Wisdom which I hope you have and will continue to enjoy.

Top Posts

In case you missed them, here are the posts that got the most love, traffic, and/or shares:

  1. Sunday Summary: @theextrapounds does @fitbloggin
  2. Monday Miles: 5 Lessons from a Rookie Mudrunner
  3. Year One: The Weight Loss Chronicles

I am so not surprised that these have been the most popular. They have the most lessons and also show the most fun I have had.

What the future holds

This year my 2015 resolutions are taking central stage. I started a new meal plan and I am trying to learn more about how to nourish my body to get the results I want. I may not have lost much weight in the last 12 months but I have lost inches and I have gone down a size so I am sculpting my body and not just losing mass. I have a lot to learn still and I can’t wait to share it.

Thank you!

gatsby-leo-051113

PS. Are you on a similar journey? Are you blogging about it? If so, share your blog url in the comments section.

10 comments

      1. I had this talk with my personal trainer about getting stuck and looking at what may cause this plateau etc. So he looked at my food diary and pretty much it’ my diet, not evening eating too much but the type of food. He said ok you ate junk food one day, don’t punish yourself, just move on, enjoy that moment and move on. I think he is right. I feel we self punish ourselves, which is more detrimental bc at least with me then I feel I want to give it all up.

      2. That’s true. That’s the reason I failed so many times before. We are not perfect and we are not trying to lose 5-10 lbs… It’s a long game, I try to look at my progress month to month instead of day to day. That helps. Keep it up.

  1. I don’t know if my journey is a similar one to yours, as my starting point is that of morbid obesity, but on my little blog https://wantneedwill.wordpress.com/ I do daily posts that mostly circle around staying positive nowadays. How to keep a smile on your lips while losing weight 🙂

    Keep up the good work! The amount learned and done doesn’t have to show on the scales, the weight has gone down and you should be proud! Here’s to another good year ahead of you, ahead of us 🙂

Leave a Reply

