March’s WIRT: The Husband’s Secret

Hello peeps! It’s that time of the month again, time for What I Read Tuesday (WIRT), when I share my latest reads as I complete 2015 Around the World Reading Challenge and I tie them into the blog’s theme.

I started this world tour in Japan with 1Q84. Last month I returned to The United States and read Heft. This month we travel to Australia and I share my thoughts on The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty.

Liane Moriarty is a prolific australian author. Her six novels are all international best-sellers but I hear that this is one of the best. I have not read her other books but friends who have swear that this one is the juiciest.

thehusbandssecretThe Husband’s Secret is set mainly in Sidney. However, there’s not a lot of talk of major landmarks. Most of the stories take place in a suburban area. The Pacific Highway is mentioned as a line that divides the city and at the time that metaphor makes little sense but it does later on.

This is a story about family secrets. The secrets we intentionally keep from each other, the secrets we may never even know are secrets, and the havoc they wreak.

Here’s the description from the author’s website:

“My Darling Cecilia, if you’re reading this, then I’ve died…

Imagine your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret – something with the potential to destroy not just the life you built together, but the lives of others too. Imagine, then, that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive . . .”

This is the beginning of a story of a myriad of characters that look otherwise not connected but whose lives are about to crash (sometimes literally) into each other. Most of the characters are very relatable and it will make you wonder… “what would I do?”

There is a somewhat smaller character in this story that really got to me. Her name is Felicity and she is the cousin of Tess who is married to Will. Felicity used to be obese. She used to be bullied in school and called a “baby elephant.” She and Tess are super close; so close that the two along with Will now co-own and run an ad company in Melbourne. Felicity has been Tess’s eternal third wheel. When their story is introduced (chapter 2) we are told that Felicity, who had grown into a fat adult, ‘a big girl with a pretty face’ had now “joined Weight Watchers, given up Coke, joined a gym, lost forty kilos [88 lbs] and turned beautiful. Extremely beautiful.” It looks like she’s about to steal Will from Tess. I’ll stop there and offer no more spoilers.

Although Felicity’s story is not central to the plot, it is central to my blog and issues with body image. I have to admit that it upset me that Felicity doesn’t get to have a life until he’s dropped weight. She was the character that I identified the most since I still feel that way many times… I still feel that I can’t really demand what I want… I have to be “not fat” first. It’s an everyday struggle. Anyway… I can’t really add more without spoiling it but I do recommend this book and you can read the rest of my review here.

Favorite Passage

downloadSo there you have it… we just need to be a bit ‘benty’. 😀

FYI - Tomorrow starts April AtoZ Blogging Challenge. Tomorrow will be easy: "A" is for April and I'll do a regular post on things I am looking forward to this coming month. The remainder of the month will be mostly related to weight loss, dieting, and overall about choices made throughout my weight loss journey. I hope you enjoy it and find it useful... here we go... 30 days of blogging.

10 comments

  1. Sounds like an interesting book. I know what you mean about the weight issues. In too much of popular culture, heavy women are not allowed to have a love life unless/until they lose the weight. Sigh.

    If you are interested in books about women with weight issues, you may want to check out Wally Lamb’s “She’s Come Undone.” I read it a long time ago, so I don’t remember it well, but I remember enjoying it. It was an Oprah book club pick, for what it’s worth.

  2. I have never read an australian author (atleast not one that I distinctive remember) so I find this review very useful. Will be sure to check it out as you have me intrigued.

    Good with your weight loss journey!

  3. Sounds like a very good book to read. I agree with you about the body issue part because many young girls are put under pressure to be as thin as possible. This leads to many young girls going on dangerous diets that they believe will help them be thin like this. Another interesting book review.

Leave a Reply

