Sunday Summary: Rainy Run

Hello peeps! I had a pretty interesting week. High on the yuck scale I woke up Wednesday to some pain in my mouth that turned out to be a gum infection. Thankfully I found an amazing dentist that was able to take care of the problem right away and I got a good teeth cleaning for good measure. I’m still on antibiotics but I was able to run on Saturday so it’s all good.

samteeth

My Saturday 5K was met with rain and I was utterly unprepared for it. Nevertheless, my time was better than last week but that had probably more to do with the path which was much flatter this time around.

IMG_4180

Once I got home I did some research on how to perform better during a rainy run. Here’s what I wish I had known/done better:

  1. Dress in layers – The cotton shirt got really heavy once I was completely soaked. I should have known better. Had I paid attention to the weather report I would have chosen to wear different fabric.
  2. Wear a hat – The rain mixed with my sweat which got into my eyes and mouth. YUCK!
  3. Wear the right shoe – My Vibram Five Fingers were still dirty from last week’s Color Run so I decided to take my New Balance which don’t have the same traction and although I did not fall or skid at all, the road was slippery and a little scary. Choose carefully.

For more great tips for running in the rain click here.

On other news I’ve been really relaxed with my diet this week. I did not track at all but I did eat less and much healthier than previous weeks. I also exercised a little less but still managed to clock around five hours of activity.

Weekly Words of Wisdom

fit-just-go-run

As always, thanks for stopping by. 😀

2 comments

Leave a Reply

