“E” is for Exercise

EHello peeps! Whew! I made it. ūüėÜ

Let’s talk about exercise. Definitely an important component to any weight loss program but remember that one cannot exercise our way out of a bad diet so always keep that in mind.

When I started my weight loss journey in August 2013, at 225.4 lbs on a 5’1” frame exercise was not easy. I started going to the gym three times a week and fell in love with zumba but it was hard, I tried to stay hidden in the back, and I modified almost every movement. A month later I had dropped nine pounds and developed some flexibility. By December I was exercising nearly everyday and I had added weights to my routine. A year later, in August 2014,¬†my exercise routine had really diversified and since then I routinely switch up my weekly schedule always keeping my favorite classes: zumba and a group weights class that is offered by my local Y.

Here’s a typical week:

  • Monday: Zumba & Weights
  • Tuesday: Yoga
  • Wednesday: Weights & Zumba
  • Thursday: Spinning
  • Friday: Blacklight Zumba
  • Saturday: Zumba & Weights (or a 5K run)
  • Sunday: Brisk walk (or run) at a park/ around neighborhood

You may wonder if I ever take a rest day and the answer is yes, I do. In fact, today was an impromptu rest day due to an incredibly busy day. I rarely schedule my rest days though. Perhaps that is something I should work on. However, Friday and Sunday are common rest days for me.

The lesson I want to leave you with is that if you’ve been wanting to try something or have already tried it and found it difficult, KEEP GOING! It gets better.

2 comments

  1. Yes! It does get better. I started swimming lessons just a month ago. Anytime before last month, I was petrified of water. Today, I am just coming from a swim class where I’m doing strokes, staying afloat and not wanting to get out of the pool when the class is over. It DOES get better!

Leave a Reply

