“H” is for Hell

 

Hello peeps! Today after a morning full of errands in the nation’s capital I had a yummy lunch with a friend from college and then decided to take a stroll around the National Mall. During my walk I came across the Smithsonian National Museum of African American Art and they were having an exhibition titled The Divine Comedy: Heaven, Purgatory, and Hell Revisited by Contemporary African Artists.” I came across this question: What would your hell look like?

What would my hell look like indeed?

At first, while I was thinking about this I immediately thought about the worst moment I could think of. For me, that was the morning I got the call about my dad’s passing. I concluded that my hell would be reliving that moment non-stop. Then I realized that what my hell would really look like is any event happening non-stop with no change. And I had a tiny epiphany: change is good. 

We tend to be fearful of change but it’s inevitable and how boring it would be to do, or feel, or think, or know, etc etc, the same thing over and over. That would be hell.

So next time you are feeling a little afraid about the next big change in your life remember that it’s the changes in our lives that present the greatest opportunities.

Leave a Reply

