Hello January: 2015 Resolutions

On December 31st I finished the #100happydays challenge. I confess that it was not easy but it forced me to highlight something that was a source of happiness everyday and that turned out to be a healthy exercise. Here are my #100happydays:

IMG_3446

At the beginning of 2014, I set out to accomplish 10 things. Knowing that there were things I wanted to accomplish pushed me to work towards them. Although I didn’t complete them all, I did make real progress so I am making my list again for this year. Here are my resolutions for 2015:

  1. Begin a New Chapter: Last year I started this blog and that ended up being my new adventure. This year, I am hoping to take my life in a new direction. A new job? Maybe a new career. We’ll see. When the project takes real form I will let you know.
  2. Arrive at ‘Normal’ weight: I struggled through some serious plateaus last year and although I managed to lose weight, I didn’t quite make it to goal. I honestly don’t know what my “goal” weight will be. For now I am working towards getting to 132 lbs. which would place me in the normal BMI range. So the goal is to drop 34 lbs. this year.
  3. Start a Race Bib collection: This year I pledge to make running a habit. I am already signed up for a 5K later this month and another one in March. The plan is to run an official 5K race every month so I should end the year with 12 new race bibs. Also, I hope to run at least 150 miles this year which could be easily accomplish if I run 3 miles every week.
  4. Read 50 Books: Last year I read 20 books. I am fully aware that reading 50 books is not going to be easy. But I am going to try. PS. I’m keeping track of this challenge on Goodreads.
  5. Pay off Credit Card: I can’t wait to pay this card and destroy it. I had two. Last year I paid one off. Hopefully the second one will be done this year.
  6. Volunteer: I recently learned about a few local organizations that aid the problem of homelessness that I believe I would enjoy working with. I want to make volunteering a regular part of my routine. I hope to find a group I like.
  7. Visit Friends: Most of my best friends were made through college, mainly during my master’s. Since we graduated we have moved away and thanks to social media we keep in touch but I hope to make a few visits this year and spend some quality time with them.
  8. Write a Novel: I am not a writer but there’s a story that’s been taking form in my mind for a while and I believe that NaNoWriMo would be the perfect platform to let that story out.
  9. Complete the #52NewFoods Challenge: I am still a picky eater and I would like to introduce some new foods to my diet. This month I’ll try Brussels Sprouts, Chicory, Parsnips, Persimmons, and Turnips.
  10. Conquer 1 item on my Confidence Bucket List.

Have you made a list for 2015? Any advice on staying on track? Comment away!

2 comments

Leave a comment